Dr. Vikram Sarabhai – Man behind ISRO

Vikram1“My office is in the Dr.VSI Estate, Thiruvanmiyur” – I have been telling this for almost 3 years now and when people ask for, I would expand Dr.VSI – means, Dr.Vikram Sarabhai Instronic Estate, without understanding the value of the name. It was in my mind that I should try to know more about him.

Recently I had that opportunity when I visited British Council Library (I have been a member for more than 2 years now, thanks to Mahadevan, my ex-collegue :-)…but how many books I have read so far is not worth telling if I compare with him).I went to the Physics section, looking for a book on Dr.Vikram Sarabhai. I spent couple of hrs. there reading it. WoW! What a person…

As in case of most of the greats like Bharathi….Vikram had a very short life (1919-71) and within that 50 years of life he has achieved amazing number of things. He has founded numerous organizations – ISRO, IIM-Ahmedabad, ATIRA (Textile Research), PRL apart from running successfully his family business Sarabhai Chemicals and other business houses. He was also a successful scientist with many papers and a PhD on Cosmic Rays.

The establishment of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) was one of his greatest achievements.

Vikram Sarabhai founded the Physical Research Laboratory (PRL) in Ahmedabad on November 11, 1947. He was only 28 at that time.

vikram2A must read book for people interested – but this book is not a complete biography, skips on his college days and the author Amrita Shah has put together pieces from her own research, what she heard from others and joining the dots on what could have been Dr.Sarabhai’s thinking at various points.

I am really proud to be in a place which is named after Dr. Vikram Sarabhai. 

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Mahadevan said,

    Good that you have written this, after expanding the name and you wanted to know more about him and did so….
    ATIRA was founded by him is a good info for me.
    We almost forget in time, about our great scientist.
    I see a AJC bose road here(calcutta), Acharya jagdish chandra bose, may be i should follow suit.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

மறுமொழியொன்றை இடுங்கள்

